You are here

North Mankato Port Authority

The Port Authority Commission consists of 7 members. Five members of the Commission are City Council members and 2 members are appointed by the Council. Appointed members of the Commission serve overlapping 6-year terms. Commission Members receive no pay for their service. The members are selected based on their backgrounds in business, law, accounting, banking, financial services and other business sectors.
The Commission serves as the economic development arm of the City of North Mankato and has all the powers of a Port Authority as established under applicable Minnesota Statute. The Commission also has HRA powers under Minnesota Statute.
The annual meeting of the Authority is held on the second Monday of July each year at 7:00 p.m. All other meetings are at the call of the President or motion of the Commission. Meetings are called to deal with any item or items of business necessary to carry out the goals and responsibilities of the Commission and review applications for economic development or redevelopment projects.
Port Authority Packets are Available at the North Mankato Taylor Library and online at Port Authority Packets

History of the Port Authority

Port Authority By-Laws (pdf)

Tax Increment Financing Project History (pdf)

Private Activity Revnue Bond (Conduit Debt) Policy (pdf)

Downtown Grants

Policy (pdf)

Application (pdf)

Downtown Loans

Policy (pdf)

Application (pdf)


Commission Member

Appointment Effective Through

Duane Olenius 2028
Ben Kaus 2026
Billy Steiner NA
Mark Dehen NA
Diane Norland NA
Sandra Oachs NA
Jim Whitlock NA
Kevin McCann (ex-officio) NA